Mrs. Jesse Helms Endorses Hudson

Says He is a True Conservative You Can Trust

February 6, 2012

Today, Mrs. Jesse Helms, wife of the late United States Senator, officially endorsed Richard Hudson, conservative candidate for Congress in NC-08. She will serve as “Honorary Chairman” of his campaign.

“I know what a true conservative is. Richard Hudson is a true, dyed-in-the-wool conservative the people of the Eighth District can trust,” said Mrs. Helms. “I enthusiastically endorse his candidacy.”

Hudson, recognized as the frontrunner for the Republican nomination in the 8th District, enjoys the most grassroots support and is the first candidate to organize all twelve counties in the district. Hudson also raised more money in the 4th Quarter of 2011 than any incumbent or challenger in North Carolina and raised $115,000 more than incumbent Larry Kissell—though Hudson entered the race two weeks into the quarter.

Hudson, the former District Director to 8th District Congressman Robin Hayes, was honored to have the financial support and endorsement of Mrs. Helms, her daughter Nancy Helms Grigg, and her grandson Mike Stuart.

“I am honored to have Mrs. Jesse Helms serve as Honorary Chairman of my campaign,” said Hudson. “Senator Helms was someone I admired and respected, so having the support of his wife and members of his family because they know I am the consistent conservative candidate is both gratifying and humbling.”

Mrs. Helms joins 2010 8th District Republican Nominee Harold Johnson, 2010 8th District Republican candidate Hal Jordan and Barbara Hayes– wife of former 8th District Congressman Robin Hayes– as Honorary Campaign Chairmen of Hudson for Congress.






Sue Burr- Former Anson County Republican Party Secretary

Richard Harrington- Mayor of Lilesville

Don Scarborough- Owner, Plank Road Realty

Russell Sikes- Farmer, Realtor



Bob Carruth- Cabarrus County Commissioner

Tracy Drye- Republican activist

Tom Grady- Attorney

Jane Liles- Community leader, wife of the late Mayor George Liles

Mike Minter- Businessman, coach and former Carolina Panther

Doug Stafford- Businessman



Sim DeLapp- Former County Commissioner, Former Christian Coalition State Chairman

Garry Frank- District Attorney

Roger Younts- County Republican Party Treasurer



John Fennebresque- Attorney and member of the UNC Board of Governors

Karen Henning- Business owner and East Side Activist

Ed McMahan- Former State Legislator and Former Republican Party National Committeeman

Dan Ramirez- Former Mecklenburg County Commissioner

Lee Teague- Former County Republican Party Chairman



Russell Fuller- Republican activist



Neal Robbins- Attorney and Republican activist

Ann Shaw- Former Register of Deeds



Chris Maples- School teacher and Republican activist

Tom McInnis- School Board Member and Former County Republican Party Chairman



Craymon Strickland- Realtor/co-owner, Dark Water Realty & County Campaign Chairman

Jarrod Lowery- Marine Reserve & UNC Pembroke College Republicans

Daniel Locklear- Founder- UNC Pembroke College Republicans, Past state CR officer



Tom Bost- Businessman and community leader

David Burton- Bank Financial Crimes Manager, Republican activist



John Carpenter- Community leader and Republican activist

Dr. Bill Goodwin- Retired Dentist



Jim Cogdell- Owner, The Fork

Devron Furr- School Administrator

Mark Lowder- Attorney

Vaughn Rummage- Businessman, Volunteer Fire Chief and community leader

BA Smith- Former County Republican Party Chairman

Ron Swanner- CEO, Home Savings Bank

Windell Talley- Farmer



Jerry Simpson- Chairman of the Union County Commission

Donnie Baucom- Former 8th District Republican Party Chairman

Allan Baucom- Former Union County Commission Chairman


Share this